Confessions of a Cosmetic Junkie

helping the economy one lipstick at a time

MUSINGS: Winning an Invite to the Clinique Real Women Party @ Powerplant Mall, Rockwell November 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — karminaaguilar @ 9:20 am
Tags: , , ,

I have been a loyal follower of both local and foreign bloggers. They are my go-to resources when I want to try out new make-up. They make lives easier for careful make-up shoppers like me. They use the product, swatch the product, honestly tell you if a product is “the bomb” or it basically “sucks” big time. They painstakingly take the time to write detailed reviews of products in a manner which both educates you and at the same time entertain you.

 

One of my favorite blogs is Project Vanity. Why do I love reading her blogs? Liz (Lanuzo) is very honest with her opinion, gives useful swatches, suggestions and her manner of writing is very engaging. She emails her readers to warn them of a product which somehow had a delayed side effect on her (late break outs etc) which is the case for me, and I was thankful for her candid email which also gave me other brands to try instead.

 

Anyway, I recently transferred companies and that made me forget blogging as well as reading blogs since I am adjusting to my new work and concentrated more in getting settled. During the long holiday, having free time, I updated myself to reading blogs and saw Liz’s post on “My Clinique Experience”. Growing up to a mom who uses Clinique… I just had to comment (and join her contest! 🙂 )

 

Here is my comment (entry):

” I grew up to a mom who is very loyal to Clinique. I probably can pick out the clinique toner as a toddler or identify the clinique make-up from a stash based on packaging alone. The unique green packaging always intrigued me as I grew up… and eventually used until now that I have been working for x number of years.

My first make-up set was Clinique (given by my mom of course). I was fresh out of high school and trying to make a good impression at college. It was a set of 2 eyeshadows, a blush, and 2 lip colors… I was a loyal follower ever since.That set used together with my Clinique face powder always made me look “blooming” to friends and made me look “put together” as per a few of my admirers then hahaha.

A lot of girls would save up their allowance to buy clothes and shoes… I saved mine to be able to buy my clinique make-up. I tried to use cheaper face powders but I always ended up with my skin breaking out… so I saved up my allowance to be able to have a steady supply of my clinique face powder and continue my love with the clinique “Baby kiss” lip color then.

So my relationship with Clinique withstood the test of time. I have grown up with Clinique and would probably be recommending it to my future daughter the way my mom introduced me to Clinique.”

 

I commented not expecting to win. But… after a long day at work, I saw this on my mailbox:

myWPEdit Image

I panicked since the email was sent at 2pm and I was at work (we surrender our mobile phones to the guards so I was not able to read my personal emails until I got hold of my mobile after work) and was able to read the email around 2am… way past the 2-hour window to respond. But hoping against hope, I replied to the email stating that I just got out of work and saw the email… that I was hoping that I’m still the one going to the event…

 

I slept…

 

and woke up to Liz’s email that I am still going… yay!!! 🙂

 

So the event was at the Powerplant mall… Liz looked fabulous in her black and white bandage dress with her black leather motorcycle jacket… I was a bit embarrassed with my casual yellow top and jeans…

 

So off to the party…

 

I met the other bloggers that I follow (It had a starstruck effect on me… believe me hehehe). I got a skin consultation and a make over… It was an absolutely fun afternoon with Liz and the other bloggers like Shen, Nikki, and Lauren.

 

The gift from Clinique and the dinner was a huge cherry on top of this fun afternoon (to night).

 

Beauty Bloggers Unite!!!

myWPEdit Image

The products used…

myWPEdit Image

 

My make-up artist!

myWPEdit Image

 

Happy chit chat over dinner @Kulinarya

myWPEdit Image

My loot bag!!!

myWPEdit Image

myWPEdit Image

Thank you again Liz and Clinique for choosing my entry… It was great meeting you at last… It was a fun day for me. 😉

 

Leave a comment